Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Captured speed trip computer screen

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by Z31na, Aug 20, 2017.

  1. Z31na

    Z31na Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    2013 VF Commodore Evoke
    Its been bugging me for months now. I have an ex police vf. On The trip computer is a "captured speed" screen. Except reseting it to zero 5 minutes after I bought the car no amount of button presses on the trip computer buttons does anything to change this screen.

    Having this screen enabled also appears to disable the overspeed setting and make it so that everytime i start the car the trip computer reverts to the standard digial speedo.

    Does anyone else have this screen active on their dash and either A: know how to remove it and bring back overspeed and stop the dash defaulting to digital speed or B: know how to operate this captured speed screen.
     
  2. dgp

    dgp Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    519
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VF II SSV Redline
    Send Tazzi a PM, he will be able to assist.
     
    john logan likes this.
  3. john logan

    john logan New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Location:
    ballan
    Members Ride:
    vf ute efoke v6 my14
    haue one to would like to find out more about captured speed
     
  4. PeteSS

    PeteSS Active Member

    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Series 2 SSV Redline
    I remember hitting a button on the stalk when i was doing a certain speed and it locked that speed into the 'captured speed" thingy. As for the trip computer not defaulting to the digital speedo every time you start it, that was doing my head in too. not sure how to fix it
     
  5. john logan

    john logan New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Location:
    ballan
    Members Ride:
    vf ute efoke v6 my14
     
  6. woooo

    woooo Active Member

    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    173
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Multiple
    t aliquam praesent fringilla metus ligula donec mi, tempus adipiscing porta adipiscing conubia euismod curabitur non, neque at vitae gravida sem aptent.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2018
  7. john logan

    john logan New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Location:
    ballan
    Members Ride:
    vf ute efoke v6 my14
    thank you for your help if any one has a late model police car have a dealer look at it the one I got had four recalls on it had a new steering rack re tension lower ball joints re clip elc loom over diff new fueil pipe so much for these car being well maintaned
     
  8. woooo

    woooo Active Member

    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    173
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Multiple
    Tempus egestas eget inceptos habitasse ornare bibendum tellus pretium platea enim mattis nibh.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2018
  9. john logan

    john logan New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Location:
    ballan
    Members Ride:
    vf ute efoke v6 my14
    thanks will do that when next service due
     
  10. Z31na

    Z31na Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    2013 VF Commodore Evoke
    Woooo would you know what buttton it is you press? ive tried pressing and holding everything and nothing gets it off "--".
    Ive contacted two different holden dealers. Neither of themknew the screen exists. I too also found out at that point that there are 3-4 recalls on my car
     
  11. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    446
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 6.0 470rwhp
    When Police cars are decommissioned they are supposed to reprogram the IPC to normal spec, not Police spec.
     
  12. woooo

    woooo Active Member

    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    173
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Multiple
    No not that I know of, none which remove the function from the dash anyway.
     
  13. stockies

    stockies Bannana

    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    S/E Suburbs
    Members Ride:
    G6E Turbo
    Nope.

    - Well, at least not in Victoria. They get sold as fast as the auctions get them, which is a soon as they remove all the gear and decommission the vehicle. Otherwise the vehicle is the way and taking up space.
    When they do get serviced at a Holden dealer during their Police "service life" - unless the recall affects the vehicles brakes, steering, engine or suspension - it doesn't get done, as the vehicle is required "operationally" and sitting at dealer all day (or two) waiting a software update or piece of seat padding is wasting time. Most of the time, its a "vehicle required operationally/urgently scenario. (particularly Div Vans/ State HWY patrol etc)
    - Same reason they never get "re-stickered" after a smash, soon as its repaired - its back out on the road.


    All of the decommissioned Ambulance & VicPol Ford Territory's and Falcons still display "Police" on startup as well.
    Gotta have something to prove it was a ex cop car right?
     
  14. john logan

    john logan New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Location:
    ballan
    Members Ride:
    vf ute efoke v6 my14
    did you get a new steering rack with your recalls
     
  15. scozz76

    scozz76 Member

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    Largs Bay, Adelaide, S.A
    Members Ride:
    VF 2014 Evoke - VYII Acclaim
    I've questioned one of the holden dealers (service guy) here in SA regarding the overspeed, he said it can't be changed. He also wasn't aware of the setting on the police vehicles so I would say he's guessing.

    Also with the police vehicles, the keyfob has a huge range on it. I can be at least 50m away and still unlock my car which is a concern when I'm at work as I have accidentally unlocked the boot - fortunately I realised straight away.
    Is there any way to adjust the sensitivity?
     
  16. 426Cuda

    426Cuda SUBLIME!

    Messages:
    4,035
    Likes Received:
    2,846
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Wagga Wagga
    Members Ride:
    VF Redline Sedan - A6 Spitfire MSE...
    If the batteries are hood, they all work up to 100m away. As per the handbook. I can start mine from my second story office say 75m away with no window facing the car park. Which is great on cold winter or hot summer days.
    No adjustment for range though. Short of wrapping the key in tinfoil.
    Do you have to hold the boot button down for a few seconds or just one press?
     
  17. woooo

    woooo Active Member

    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    173
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Multiple
    Dictumst etiam at rutrum leo feugiat proin nisl at accumsan rhoncus ligula consectetur, metus malesuada amet ut cursus turpis diam dapibus senectus cubilia donec.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2018
  18. scozz76

    scozz76 Member

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    Largs Bay, Adelaide, S.A
    Members Ride:
    VF 2014 Evoke - VYII Acclaim
    Long press for boot button but the key was in my pocket
     
  19. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    446
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 6.0 470rwhp
    Part of the decommission is removing Police mode as the speedo calibration is also affected ie in Police mode the buffer is removed. I decommission Police vehicles as part of my job.

    Can't see why you'd need to prove a car was ex Police but if you did simply looking at RPO codes would show this or vehicle history.
     
  20. Gumboot

    Gumboot New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Location:
    Nsw
    Members Ride:
    VF SS
    Unsure of other states but in NSW this isn't true. The dash speedo isn't even used.
     

Share This Page