Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Clean your MAF

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
437
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
V8 vs will be MAP so no MAF in there well the manual version at least
 
Last edited:

immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
16,943
Reaction score
5,828
Points
113
Location
Sth Auck, NZ
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
early results are in. fuel usage is now sitting at 12.3ltr/100km on the trip computer. this is mostly around town short trips. haven't changed anything else on the car so thats a marked improvement from 13.6ltrs/100km:yeah:

still got a vac leak through the climate air system so better results are still to come
 

frase

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VSII Exec Wagon V6 Manual
is there a good way to remove the mesh screen?
ive done it before but this time i tried and i seem to be damaging the mesh and getting nowhere...
 

Ado

Are we there yet?
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
350
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Age
35
Members Ride
vsII statesman L67
Interesting thread, ive completely removed the mesh from my air flow meter
and haven't been running that mesh insert for close to a 1 yr now, i havent noticed
any abnormalities to vehicle driveability etc however i cant guarantee it wont
potentially do harm to the air flow meter in the long run one good thing ive noticed
after reading the posts ,, i guess mines maintenance free. :)
 

immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
16,943
Reaction score
5,828
Points
113
Location
Sth Auck, NZ
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
i damaged mine some time ago when i removed it so i haven't had it in for a while.
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
437
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
you may find you get better economy with the mesh in there it helps distribute the air in the sensor and the tune is calibrated to the sensor with the mesh in there.and it allso stops the wires getting damaged if any debree was to get in there.
 

frase

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VSII Exec Wagon V6 Manual
yeah cos i wash gonna keep the mesh out because of the flow restriction but then i heard the mesh was there to straighten airflow...
so i guess if you dont have it in you might run a little rich as the airflow meter reads the extra turbulence as increased airflow
 

danja

Swerves for gay koalas
Joined
Jan 26, 2006
Messages
1,786
Reaction score
53
Points
48
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
CBF 250 and a Levin ZR
I've heard it from a few places that the MAF will flow way more than a stock V6 needs, so unless you've put FI on it or something there isn't much to be had by removing the mesh.
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
437
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
you only use half of the flow of the MAF in NA form so you can double the airflow before you will max it out
 

frase

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VSII Exec Wagon V6 Manual
so bearing all that in mind, i wanna leave the mesh in but take it out to clean the MAF but when i try to take it out it gets damaged...
any ideas for easy removal?
 
Top