Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Locating misfire

TheGrimReaper

Reaction score
Members Ride
2006 VE SV6
Good morning all. Just thought I’d see if I would have some luck getting some answers on here as I’ve been chasing a misfire for a little over 3 months and can’t seem to be able to find the problem. I’ll try my best to include all info on what I’ve done.
My car developed a misfire just after filling the tank and when checked was only in cylinder 8. I went out brought new coils,plugs and leads and switched them over to find that it didn’t change anything. I then opted to check the injecters I swapped 8&7 and then found when starting the car the car developed a misfire in 6,7,8 when put back together. I took it to a mechanics and pressure tested the plugs and found they had a high pressure reading. He checked the plugs,leads and coils again but found that they were working however cylinder 1 plug looked like it wasn’t firing at all. Going to preform a scan today to see if anything has changed since tinkering last night. The last time I tried starting it it passed the system check then once firing I could here the misfire it was so bad that the exhaust was rattling under the car but it wasn’t throwing any codes. It took almost 2-3 minutes of rough idling before it threw a code. Could this be a fuel problem or something gone wrong with something in the block itself. Car runs rough in idle with strong petrol smell from exhaust and just seems to lack acceleration. Once up to speed (60kmh) it feels ok but still off. After ideas on where to go next.
Thanks all who has an input
Car is 2006 Holden Commodore VE SS 265,000km on the clock.

Immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Reaction score
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX Calais II L67
Are you still on the same batch of fuel?