Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VS rotor replace.

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by crelok, Dec 3, 2019.

1. crelok

crelok New Member

Members Ride:
    VS series 2
    Hey all,new here and just received a VS and the rotors are poop,found a video to replace front and seem simple enough-2 bolts on the caliper and swap rotor and pads etc, is it the same for the rear?or is there anything else i need to do.
    Thanks ahead.

2. losh1971

losh1971 Well-Known Member

Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    4 bolts need to remove the caliper brackets as well. Need to check brake shoes as they could be worn out too. Shoes can be a bastard. Took me over an hour per side with lots of swearing.

crelok likes this.
  3. crelok

crelok New Member

Members Ride:
    VS series 2
    ok thanks!-are you talking about the handbrake shoes or the normal disc pads?..im new to this system is all as i have a hj60 landcruiser and it is just drum at the rear and this is different.

4. losh1971

Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Yes handbrake shoes.

crelok likes this.
  5. crelok

crelok New Member

Members Ride:
    VS series 2
    ahh ok,bugger-i have ordered the rear rotors and pads but not them.hopefully they just need adjusting.
    Appreciate the replies!

6. vc commodore

vc commodore Well-Known Member

Members Ride:
    vc commodore
    To replace the pads, just unbolt 1 bolt that attaches the caliper to the bracket....This allows the access to the pads.

To replace the rear rotors, yes, 2 bolts to unbolt the caliper bracket....Be aware, it will be best before attempting to remove the rear rotors, spray WD40/CRC around the centre of the rotor....Also, using a wire brush, remove as much of the crud around the centre of the rotor as possible....This will help the rear rotor slide off, even if you have to use a rubber mallet, or worst case scenario, a metal hammer....