Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Need advise ASAP

Mandah

Reaction score
Members Ride
Ve omega
Hi guys hoping I could have some help and advise on possible fixes, I’ve been screwed I brought a car from family that had an engine swap swap was done at home so backyard mechanic styles.
Car is a 2006 Leo v6, Engine is 2008 Leo v6, It was meant to be complete plug and play good to go, Have had issues with the o2 sensors I’ve been to Holden they did diagnostics and came back with this
“Found ecu not reading o2 sensor correctly due to incorrect engine being fitted to vehicle current engine software required 6 o2 sensors, Vehicle only equiped to have 4 sensors due to wiring harness”.
Now I’m no expert but I’m also not dumb, No Holden’s were fitted for 6 sensors, I’ve sworn black and blue at them if there was meant to be 6 where the hell are the other plugs that the two imaginary sensors plugged into.
They kept going on and on about comparing the wiring diagrams and them not matching, They are adamant there is no fix except another engine replacement, No way to modify the software to be correct or anything they are adamant there is meant to be 6 o2 sensors with that engine.
I’m at my wits end with this car Holden won’t help or try to explain how they came to the conclusion about the 6 sensors and can’t show me how there is meant to be 6, They happily took my money and didn’t even have the decency to clear the engine light.
I’m hoping I have some options other then engine swapping, I’m waiting for another Holden dealer to confirm whether the whole software thing is legit or just dribble they came up with to get out of anything as I just wanted the diagnostic.