Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Need advise ASAP

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by Mandah, Aug 13, 2018.

  1. Mandah

    Mandah New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Ve omega
    Hi guys hoping I could have some help and advise on possible fixes, I’ve been screwed I brought a car from family that had an engine swap swap was done at home so backyard mechanic styles.
    Car is a 2006 Leo v6, Engine is 2008 Leo v6, It was meant to be complete plug and play good to go, Have had issues with the o2 sensors I’ve been to Holden they did diagnostics and came back with this
    “Found ecu not reading o2 sensor correctly due to incorrect engine being fitted to vehicle current engine software required 6 o2 sensors, Vehicle only equiped to have 4 sensors due to wiring harness”.
    Now I’m no expert but I’m also not dumb, No Holden’s were fitted for 6 sensors, I’ve sworn black and blue at them if there was meant to be 6 where the hell are the other plugs that the two imaginary sensors plugged into.
    They kept going on and on about comparing the wiring diagrams and them not matching, They are adamant there is no fix except another engine replacement, No way to modify the software to be correct or anything they are adamant there is meant to be 6 o2 sensors with that engine.
    I’m at my wits end with this car Holden won’t help or try to explain how they came to the conclusion about the 6 sensors and can’t show me how there is meant to be 6, They happily took my money and didn’t even have the decency to clear the engine light.
    I’m hoping I have some options other then engine swapping, I’m waiting for another Holden dealer to confirm whether the whole software thing is legit or just dribble they came up with to get out of anything as I just wanted the diagnostic.
    Any help would be appreciated and apologies if this doesn’t make sense I’m livid atm, afternoon 4 months in and out of mechanics and electricians just to be at square one.

    *Edited my grammar was not up to par appologies*
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
  2. vc commodore

    vc commodore Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,247
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Location:
    south australia
    Members Ride:
    vc commodore
    First fix is, break up the posting...ie, Start and finishes to sentences, using capital letters at the start of the sentence and full stops at the end....At the moment it looks like one big bit of gobbley gook, that it extremely difficult to read
     
    VS 5.0 and gossie like this.
  3. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    3,138
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    ^^^^^^as above
    I don`t read threads like that anymore.
    Good luck with it.
     
    VS 5.0 and gossie like this.
  4. Mandah

    Mandah New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Ve omega
    Is that more suitable to read or does it need more editing? Punctuation is not my strong suit, I took the lazy approach and figured the commas would be acceptable to show start and finish. I’m positive the edit would still have issues but hopefully that is more acceptable.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
  5. VTS5

    VTS5 TechJunkie

    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Sth.East\Melb
    Members Ride:
    VE OMEGA
    Car is a 2006 Leo v6, Engine is 2008 Leo v6, It was meant to be complete plug and play good to go..

    Did you check'n match the engine codes?

    Yes, 4 O2's only.. 2 pre cat, 2 post cat.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Mandah

    Mandah New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Ve omega
    Thanks for replying
    The vin numbers and engine codes were given to a local Holden and they stated straight swap after checking it was the correct engine to go into the car.
    I have called them numerous times (different dealers) over the last few weeks getting part numbers for other bits and pieces and after having the vins and engine codes checked a few times I’ve been told the same thing they are compatible.
    This single Holden dealer I took it to for diagnostics is the only one to state the engine is not compatible, I’m begining to think maybe they made a mistake on their report and meant the software requires 6 wire o2 sensors, After doing research and getting more part numbers my original engine required a 5/6wire sensor for the Pre cats, Whereas the current engine was meant to have 4wire sensors.
    (The 5/6 is due to conflicting information from Bosch au website proving a 5wire one to match the part number and a local supplier having a 6 wire one that matches the Bosch part number)

    *ive learnt my lesson about buying a ve that’s had a backyard engine swap, Even though it was with family still wouldn’t make the same mistake, I’m stuck with a car I can’t seem to fix or onsell without sinking a crap tonne of money into first*
     
  7. Xplaya

    Xplaya Active Member

    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV
    Had me scratching my head for a second there wondering where the hell they put the extra two sensors .

    It does sound like a wire harness swap is needed.

    If it drives well, maybe just disable reading 02 sensors. Think a Tech 2 can do this?
    Some places do this when aftermarket exhaust systems are installed without the post 02 sensor inputs.
    This will only remove the engine light if that is all you are getting.

    If it does not drive well, then sounds like you may need to swapout the wire harness to the correct one.
     
  8. Mandah

    Mandah New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Ve omega
    Hi thanks for replying
    I sat at Holden with my mouth open listening to the dribble, they couldn’t even explain where these two imaginary sensors are meant to go or when Holden released a 6 sensor car, I even asked where they would of sat beside the precats with the rears somewhere in the middle, I just don’t understand how a ecu/ecu can require 6 sensors without heavy modifications and surely the tech 2 would of showed reprogramming had occurred.

    it’s a 50/50 situation sometimes she drives great other times feels like driving a heavily flogged car.

    I’ve been to oztrack the poor blokes couldn’t figure it out they tried to help me and think maybe I’m right with the wrong sensors being used or possibly a wire might be crimped and pinned somewhere behind the engine.

    Holden is adamant they can’t turn off or reprogram the computers slightly to work with the sensors, Most places I’ve spoken to said they won’t touch it as no one will modify a sick car which is understandable as at the end of the day they put their business on the line if anything goes wrong.

    It’s due to go back into an auto electrician in the morning I’ve got my fingers crossed he finds a pinned wire somewhere just want it fixed so I can sell and get my upgrade.
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  9. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    3,138
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    Yes I hope the auto electrician can help you.
    Good luck.
    PS. that was easy to read mate thank you.
     
  10. Mandah

    Mandah New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Ve omega
    Haha thanks sorry I’m not the greatest with writing and punctuation and I usually don’t write such big items,
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  11. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    3,138
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    all good mate
     
  12. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    4,481
    Likes Received:
    481
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    The 2 front oxygen sensors for the LEO engine changed somewhere around the middle of 2007. So your old engine would have used the old type and your new engine the different type.
    They have different shaped plugs as you probably know.
     
  13. redvxr8clubby

    redvxr8clubby Active Member

    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast QLD
    Members Ride:
    VX Clubsport R8 & VE SS
    So a question, if the 2006 and 2008 engines are actually the same, but there is a problem with the O2 sensors wiring (4 wire/ 5 or 6 wire sensors) being different, and a different loom is needed, wouldn't this suggest the exhaust, or part of it (specifically including the O2's) was also changed along with engine, so having mismatched O2's to the cars original wiring loom and engine management? If the engine only was changed with another engine of the same type (given the engine is a dumb block of metal) why would there be an issue with the engine management and the O2's if they remained as original in the car?
     
  14. VTS5

    VTS5 TechJunkie

    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Sth.East\Melb
    Members Ride:
    VE OMEGA
    Bosch Part# 0258007200.

    Is this number means anything to you? If yes:

    This part numbered WIDEBAND more efficient O2's are for WL V6 Caprice.

    Is your car WL Caprice?

    If it is, fitted LEO engine is NOT suitable for it.
     
  15. Mandah

    Mandah New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Ve omega
    Hi yes the plugs were different, we had to change the original sensors to suit the harness of the new engine.
    And no I was not aware of the change but that explains the reason they wouldn’t fit to begin with, I’ll definately tell the auto electrician about this in the morning and see if he can make up some kind of adapter thing or modify plugs to make the original type pair with the current loom.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2018
  16. Mandah

    Mandah New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Ve omega
    Hi the engines were the same, the loom used during the swap came with the engine so it is not the original loom.
    The exhaust is the same one that was always on the car only changes made were the old engine and loom taken out all the bolts on transferred over new one put in, torque converter replaced due to damage, gear box replaced as original seized and the o2 sensors changed as originals didn’t plug into the loom.
    Everyone who has looked at the car is stumped as to why the car isn’t accepting the sensors.
    I am begining to lean towards I may have originally had narrowband sensors whereas the engines loom requires wideband so the ecm can’t work them right.
    Either that or the dopes who did the engine swapped put the plugs in wrong or backwards, I should find out hopefully tomorrow another electrician is checking for pinned wires and to make sure they are all plugged into the right sensors.
    The engine swap was all done prior to me owning it, it was brought from family and family also did the engine swap so I’m definitely not calling professionals names.
     
  17. Mandah

    Mandah New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Ve omega
    Hi mine is definitely not a caprice I’d likely have less problems if it was lol, My part numbers are as follows the top one is for the original engine so my computers also and the bottom one is for the engine and loom that was installed.

    5 wire (possibly 6 according to my local stores who stock it)Holden pn 920688286 Bosch pn 0258017123

    4 wire Holden pn 920688636 Bosch pn 0258010047


    I am guessing both are wideband although Holden would not confirm so I’m stumped as to why the originals would not plug into the engines loom, Holden can’t tell me if the cars had different sensor placements or different length looms, my car is a sedan the engine came from a Ute which has only recently became known.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2018
  18. Lex

    Lex Active Member

    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    Go back to the original loom & o2 sensors, for your original engine.
     
  19. Mandah

    Mandah New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Ve omega
    Hi thanks for replying that is not an option according to Holden my original loom is not compatible with the current engine.
    I have confirmed my original sensors were 6 wire wideband or also called air/fuel ratio sensors that are slightly different to the standard o2 sensors.
     
  20. Lex

    Lex Active Member

    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    Didn't you say that the engine was compatible to your old engine? Just two years later. If so, use all the sensors & there looms for the old engine, then everything is compatible?
     

Share This Page