Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Oil light and rattling sound

BrentonK

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Acclaim
Haven't started it in like 2 months, took it around the block and it sounds like a tractor, and the check oil light is on, I checked the oil and it seems good, just wondering if i should worry to much about it, sounds worse than the video shows, Everyone so far is telling me it's the timing chains? it is a 2007 omega

Last edited by a moderator:

Darcon666

Evil is always around you
Reaction score
Website
www.gfy.com
Members Ride
Your Mother
I am no mechanic, but that does not sound healthy, at all.... worse thing you could have done it taken it for a drive I think

Timing chain... possibly, but does not seem to be missing... I'm lean towards something in the valve train like a broken/dud lifter/valve/rocker/Cam lobe, even though you said you have oil in the sump... the oil pump could be dead.... so the engine is actually running dry.

Good luck with it...

BrentonK

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Acclaim
Thanks for the reply man, it wasn't making any weird sounds till i turned around to come back, and i started it like an hour after and the sound wasn;t there :-/ so #### knows, got me confused

redvxr8clubby

Reaction score
Members Ride
VX Clubsport R8 & VE SS