Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Check engine light right after service

VF300k

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF Evoke
Put my 2014 VF in for a service, Holden service centre ( I know this was my first mistake ) had a special “Essential Service” deal.

Comes back all good, brakes and tyres need to be done soon, Nothing else mentioned when picking it up.

Get in the car, Turn it over and a check engine light pops up on the dash, First time since I’ve had it and I’ve been driving ALOT since I got it 2-3 months ago.

Turned it off and walked straight back in, told them it’s got a check engine light on the dash, they umm and ahhh about it and take it back round to the shop.

Comes back 15 minutes later starts explains it’s now showing P0171 and P0174 codes, they’ve cleared them and checked the purge solenoid, run it for a little bit and it’s not come back.

I’ve gone for a decent 45 minute drive tonight and it’s not come back yet.

Any ideas as to why this popped up right after a service and why they didn’t notice it when doing their “30 point inspection”

If anything, won’t be going back to Holden for any work (quoted me $800 for the front brake pads and rotors)

dassaur

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF Calais V V8 Wagon
It's not the purge solenoid, it's the fact that both banks are lean.
That kind of CEL would not turn on instantly, it must have been on when they were driving it IMHO.
Probably knocked off a breather hose or something like that

It a strange one cause those codes usually only show up over time.

krusing

Well-Known Member, Possibly for the wrong reasons
Reaction score
Members Ride
2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
Firstly,
As mentioned above, possibly had a Vac/Purge hose not connected,

As for the Brakes, dont bend over to pick up your keys !