Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

BradLaird_4

Reaction score
Members Ride
Do not currently own
Hi, this is my very first post here and I'm also new to the car scene as I'm only now looking to buy my first car so, please excuse my lack of knowledge on commodores and I highly encourage anyone to correct me where necessary :p.

So, I'm a P plater looking to buy their first (technically second) car and have been researching and checking out commodores for a few months now. Personally, I love driving around and having fun with my car so naturally the sportiness of the VF SV6 was immediately appealing since the SS and SSV were off the table (*sad P plater noise*). However, after looking around, the VF CalaisV (V6 obviously), has the nicer interior plus some nicer features like a HUD, sunroof etc. (which are things I would like) but it does lack the sports orientated suspension nor does it look aggressive and sporty, like the SV6, due to the curved side skirts and front bumper. My first question is that, if I bought a CalaisV, would I be able to simply swap parts out like the suspension, side skirts and front bumper for the SV6, SS/SSV counter parts and if this is possible, would it behave/feel/drive the same as the SV6 given it has the same engine? (I'd probably put aftermarket suspension on anyways, but this question is more a proof of concept).

Second question is about the HUD. As I understand it, the SV6 Black Editions all came equipped with a HUD and the 2017 models were the first to introduce aa HUD to the base version. Does this mean that Series 1 VF SV6 Black Editions had HUD's or is this strictly for Series 2 VF?